fiction and other writing

Happy Christmas

I wanted to share a couple of my poems as a way to wish a Happy Christmas to visitors of this site. If you are not celebrating Christmas then I hope you will have a Happy Holiday. The first poem has a bit of a message and the second one is for writer friends.

Second Sacrifice

Lines of trees are felled
from the nearby hills,
for winter harvest.

Many homes are graced
with tall green beauty,
that enchants briefly.

Sparkling lights shed
their intermittent light,
beneath angel wings.

A second kind of death –
life drains from branches
and needles pattern floor.

Each year Norway Spruce
give their lives for us,
like the first sacrifice.

Christmas Wishes

If I were the Christmas Fairy
high up on the Christmas Tree
I’d hand out loads of gifts
to would-be poets just like me.

I’d give us the gift of rhyme or not,
A chance to try out our words
In all the different formats
and audiences like flocks of birds.

I’d give us thoughtful friends
Who’d comment on what we write,
I’d let this gift of wishes last
until we became poets with deep insight.

I’d give us the art of the sonnet
and Shakespeare’s thoughts to make us think,
but all I have to offer are
good wishes and a Christmas drink.

Comments on: "Happy Christmas" (2)

  1. What a lovely thought, Penny. And best wishes to you too for a very merry Christmas, and a happy, healthy and successful new year 🙂

  2. Thanks Phil,
    I wish you a Happy Christmas and 2016h lots of writing 😉
    Penny

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

