fiction and other writing

Ukulele Solace

The hard case, shaped with womanly curves,
reveals smooth wood and nylon strings
that creates finger-picking melody.

The day has been harsh in its delivery.
I strum a rhythm with striking chords
and anger is carried far from me.

Sitting by a river as swan’s glide,
I play the tunes the waters sing;
the music calms my malady

The sun disappears from the sky.
My spirit’s risen from the depths
as I caress the strings unhurriedly.

I am learning to play the ukulele and find it very therapeutic.

Comments on: "Ukulele Solace" (2)

  1. Very interesting rhyme scheme, Penny, and you paint a highly emotive scene.
    Especially like the first stanza, where you introduce a ‘hard case’ but then give it a soft, feminine feel, light and bright.

    I love the uke. One of my favorites is Joe Brown playing at the end of his live shows (seen him a few times). Probably a bit dated for you, but it’s here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWERLNXIZGc . He plays a soulful solo (sorry!) about a minute from the end.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

