fiction and other writing

I have just finished reading the Six Sisters Series books, which are basically period romances. Reverend Armitage has six daughters and two boys. Each of the books tells the tale of how one of his daughters falls in love, but these are not sloppy romances. The heroine of each book has some problem to overcome. She often faces the follies of her father and other difficulties, such as villainous characters determined to ruin her. Each of the sisters has their own distinct personality, talents and weaknesses. Their father, Reverend Armitage, is a particularly flawed character and adds a bit of spice.

The books are:
The Taming of Annabelle
Deidre and Desire
Diana the Huntress
Frederica in Fashion

All the sisters have dominant personalities, which is consistent with many of M.C. Beaton’s novels. These are quick reads and for when you want something light and entertaining. I read them on kindle but of course they are available in paperback and apparently are issued under M.C. Beaton’s pseudonym of Marion Chesney.

One thing I enjoyed is the little snippets of history that are dropped in about what men and women wore and ate or how they travelled.

These books were published in the eighties. I’m not a big ‘romance’ fan and yes I do prefer the Agatha Raisin series, but I did enjoy these books. Well worth reading.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: