fiction and other writing

What are friends for?

This weekend
Hi Jen,
You busy this weekend? Going to the beach with the kids. Thought we’d take a picnic and swimming gear and then they can all do their own thing. Got a really good book I want to read.
Love and stuff
El

Re This weekend
Hi El,
Sorry, I can’t make it. Mother-in-law coming. Do I need to say more? Giving the house a deep clean – so busy.
Jen

Re This weekend
Bring her along too. A problem shared is a problem you’re not dealing with on your own.
El

Re This weekend
Sorry, rather not. We’ve got plans.
Jen

Re This weekend
Anything interesting? Can I come with the kids? I don’t mind mucking in with whatever you’re up to and I can keep the old witch off your back.
El

Re This weekend
Sorry El. We’re just not free.
Jen

Re This weekend
Have I done something to annoy you? I thought we were friends.
El

Re This weekend
You tell me!
Jen

Re This weekend
Look, if I’ve done something to offend you could you just tell me what? I don’t like all this mysterious stuff.
El

Re This weekend
Tried to sleep with anyone’s husband recently?
Jen

Re This weekend
My dearest Jen,
I’m so sorry about that. I was feeling particularly low. Don had been gone for a year when you sent Rob round with the snorkel for Keith to borrow. Rob was just so kind and I was crying. We didn’t really do anything before I stopped it. You’re my best friend and I wouldn’t hurt you for the world.
Love El

Re This weekend
El
Rob is kind. He felt sorry for you and you played the ‘I need comfort’ card. You’ve needed a lot of support in the last year and I’ve always been there for you and the kids. Not any more. Best friends don’t try and nick your husband. KEEP AWAY FROM US.

Re This weekend
Jen
I know you’ll find this hard to believe but I really am sorry. It’s just I was a bit jealous of you and Rob and I’m lonely.
El xx

Re This weekend
Jen
Please speak to me.
El xx

Re This weekend
Oh sod you Jen! I wasn’t going to tell you but Rob and I have been having an affair for months. He said compared to me you’re frigid.
El

Re This weekend
And where do you think he’ll be tonight?
El

Mail delivery service – failed.

Mail delivery service – failed.

Mail delivery service – failed.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

